Helpful gift suggestions for Father’s Day

I hate to limit your options, especially this close to Father’s Day, but if you’re thinking about getting me a wallet, you should probably think again.

I bought one this week.

I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t wait until June 18th. My old wallet was falling apart.

Not completely, mind you. The magnetic clip that secures paper bills worked just fine.

But is keeping a wad of cash on hand really necessary anymore? With bank cards the norm, who carries a whole lot of actual dollar bills these days?

And since we’re on the subject of folding bills into wallets, when is the last time you heard someone refer to a wallet as a “billfold?” I haven’t heard anyone use the term since I was a kid, when my mother used it from time to time.

There seems to be only a few reasons to walk around with real, honest-to-goodness dollar bills, anymore. I only carry money when I need to pay say – my barber. The barber shop I frequent remains a cash-only business, so I usually end up going to an ATM and withdrawing only what I need to pay for a haircut. If I think about it, I MIGHT get a little extra for when the kids come calling for a hand out, but that’s about it.

Anyway, I didn’t buy a new wallet because I was worried about securing paper money. I was worried about losing the plastic cards that have largely replaced bills. The stitching that held my old wallet together was unraveling. And, the see-through sleeve that holds my driver’s license wasn’t really a sleeve anymore. I nearly lost my license several times because it kept slipping out.

So yea, since I couldn’t trust my wallet to be a proper wallet anymore, I bought a new one.

But don’t despair about finding a Father’s Day gift for me. There are plenty of other good ideas.

Just don’t get me a new tie. I haven’t worn one on a regular basis since I stopped reporting on West Virginia state government and took what is ostensibly a desk job at NPR in Washington, D.C.

A new fishing lure or two would be nice. But I’ve all but given up on hooking fish. I’m a terrible fisherman.

You could get me a wrist watch. But I don’t really need one because my smartphone is perfectly capable of telling me the time.

A new case to protect my smartphone would be cool. But I’m thinking of upgrading, so it’s anybody’s guess if what you buy me now would fit a newer model later.

Socks are always welcome. But when I bought my new wallet I also sprung for some socks. So, maybe not.

Same thing with shaving gear. Don’t need a new razor. I’m partial to facial hair.

Come to think of it, a beard care kit would be super, except my wife bought me one a month or two ago during a silent auction fundraiser for a local do-gooder group.

I could go on, but I think that’s enough for one day.

Hope this handy list helps!

And don’t forget, Father’s Day this year is Sunday, June 18th!

One thought on “Helpful gift suggestions for Father’s Day

  1. Mother’s Day gifts are easy. Brunch and flowers feed her body and soul. Mostly she just wants time with us.

    Father’s Day gifts are not so straightforward.

    For the first time in recorded history, I am suggesting that fathers are more complex than mothers.

    That has to be a first.

Leave a Reply

