Searching the stars paid off

I was just trying to decide whether I should write a post explaining why I trimmed my beard to almost nothing today when my phone started receiving alerts.

The first was from the New York Times. Not long after I started reading about the discovery of SEVEN EARTH-SIZED PLANETS, my phone buzzed again.

This time the alert was from NPR, where I make radio. Here’s a link to the NPR story based on findings published in the science journal Nature. And here’s a short video NASA posted to Twitter.

Days like today make me jealous of my newsroom colleagues. While I’m on my day off, avoiding house work and trying to figure out how to start a silly post about my beard, they get to wrap themselves in the sort of story that has eager space nerds gushing.

Searching the stars paid off

3 thoughts on “Searching the stars paid off

  1. Giles, the Children’s Museum, located on the third floor of the Kanawha County Public Library (Lee and Dickinson Streets in our home city) had a planetarium. I spent a lot of time in there. Space nerd, indeed.

Leave a Reply

