They’re all here – Cargos, Crocs and Pumpkin Spice

Fall has arrived.

It’s my favorite time of year, but the season breezed in Wednesday morning with little fanfare at my house.

My wife didn’t mention it before leaving for work. Neither did our daughter as she got ready for school.

As for me, I didn’t remember the change of seasons until I returned home from the morning rush and noticed a couple of Facebook posts welcoming autumn as a long lost friend. There was even one of those fall-themed “listicles” that are so ubiquitous on the internet. This one promised to answer five questions about the autumnal equinox.

I clicked on it.

Among other things, the post explained why days wait to get noticeably shorter in September, even though we’ve been losing daylight since the summer solstice.

It was interesting.

And scientific.

But the answers weren’t necessarily what I was looking for. All I really wanted to know is when I could trade my dorky cargo shorts and crocs for jeans and boots.

The seasons may have changed, but the days are still a bit too warm. The wardrobe switch has yet to happen.

It’s frustrating. No one wants temperatures to cool off more than me, except maybe my wife and daughter. They view cargos and crocs as fashion abominations.

But I would happily continue offending their sensibilities if it meant one thing – holding off the pumpkin spice juggernaut.

Grocery stores are already filled with everything from pumpkin spice cookie, muffin, bread and cupcake mixes to pumpkin spice cheesecakes, pies and bagels. A quick search of the internet turns up pumpkin spice potato chips, hummus, ice cream, cream cheese, breakfast cereal and yogurt.

I haven’t even mentioned pumpkin spice lattes and pumpkin spice beer. And my grocery store actually stocks pumpkin spice pasta sauce.

A sign there urges shoppers to “Try Them All!”

Can that really be a good idea?

In any case, before I even consider going all in on pumpkin spice, I don’t think it’s too much to ask to at least have the chance to put up my cargos and crocs for the season.

2 thoughts on “They’re all here – Cargos, Crocs and Pumpkin Spice

Leave a Reply

