If you’re questioning why I’m growing a beard, here’s the answer you’ve been looking for

I was beginning to think the weather would never cooperate. But it finally got cold enough this week for my new look to start paying off.

It’s about time. I’ve been eager to test what amounts to a newly rediscovered hobby against the elements.

My new pursuit fits me perfectly. I can do it while streaming my favorite TV shows, while I’m reading a book or when our giant dog Rodney insists I stir myself long enough to take him for a walk.

I can also do it while dodging deer on the commute to work, while I’m dodging other drivers on the way back home and when I’m simply taking my customary nap after a long day.

In short, I can do it anywhere I want, anytime I want.

Spring, summer or fall. But it harmonizes best with the winter season, when temperatures plunge.

I woke up Wednesday morning pleased that temperatures were so frigid even our teenagers thought twice about leaving for school without a jacket.

I had been working hard to prepare for just such an arctic blast since before the latest “Star Wars” movie hit theaters last month. In fact, I’ve been thinking of my effort as an homage to the Force.

I’ve been growing a Jedi beard.

Yes, I know. I’m embarrassing my wife, again. She’s sensible enough not to waste time obsessing about a far away galaxy. And she doesn’t like beards, especially the shaggy, unkept kind favored by Jedi Knights.

If she knew that I’m emulating a Jedi beard, I would probably get the biggest of the many eye rolls that have been directed my way over nearly 23 years of marriage.

My wife’s dislike notwithstanding, I’ve always been a beard enthusiast. I’ve been growing them for most of my adult life. But until now, I’ve generally kept things neat and tidy.

And believe it or not, I kept a close-cropped beard as much for me as for my wife. The mountain man look just wasn’t what I was after.

At least, not until I started thinking like a Jedi.

Besides, times change. Big beards have been stylish for more than a few years now. So you could say that the Jedi beard I’m growing is not only an homage, but also a nod to fashion.

The good news for my wife is that fashion changes and the new “Star Wars” movie will eventually runs its course.

The bad news is it will probably leave theaters just in time for me to get my beard ready for this spring’s premier of the even more beard-happy “Game of Thrones!”

3 thoughts on “If you’re questioning why I’m growing a beard, here’s the answer you’ve been looking for

  1. Your wife may not like it at first, but the manliness you will exude from having a full beard will change her mind quickly!

    “These aren’t the droids you’re looking for. You love my beard. These aren’t the droids you’re looking for. You love my beard.”

Leave a Reply

