Notes from the commute

Scored a nerdy commuter’s double today.

When I got into the car to make the long drive back home from my job in Washington, DC, “Star Trek” actor George Takei was just being introduced on “The Diane Rehm Show,” WAMU Public Radio’s popular call-in program.

I spent the next hour listening to him talk about “Allegiance,” the musical based on his family’s experience during the Japanese-American internment during World War Two.

Of course, “Star Trek” also came up.

How could it not?

When Takei’s interview was over, I switched universes. I took my car out of warp and jumped it into hyperspace.

Okay. Fine. My car is not the Millennium Falcon. It’s much closer to a simple landspeeder with too many miles on it.

Instead of actually entering hyperspace, I did the next best thing outside of seeing “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” in the theater, again. I booted up the “Star Wars” audiobook I downloaded last week.

Yes, I actually downloaded the book based on “The Force Awakens.”

Stop judging me.

 

Leave a Reply

