It’s not that I’m jealous of Jay Carney’s beard …

Answer me this – why does White House spokesman Jay Carney get so much attention when he does it and I don’t?

Carney came back to Washington after the holiday break sporting a new look – he’s grown a beard.

And it didn’t go unnoticed by the White House Press Corps when he showed up for the first briefing of the year. By their reaction on Twitter, you’d think reporters had never seen a beard before.

Politico storified some of the best tweets:

Jay Carney’s beard lights up Twitter

So did The Washington Post, which even came up with a gif of Carney.

Personally, I don’t get why Carney is getting all this attention for growing a few whiskers and I’m not. After all, I’ve been growing mine out since the beginning of November.

The only publicity I’ve gotten is this picture taken at work over the weekend and posted on Facebook.

Granted mine isn’t a full beard like Carney’s, but shouldn’t I get points for commitment?

It’s not that I’m jealous of Jay Carney’s beard …

4 thoughts on “It’s not that I’m jealous of Jay Carney’s beard …

Leave a Reply

