Tattoos: You’re Either For Them or Against Them

If there is anything that seems to polarize Americans more than President Obama’s health care overhaul, it’s got to be tattoos.

At least, that’s what seems to be the take-away from the reader comments I received from last week’s column.

When I first published it on this blog, my biggest WordPress cheerleader posted this response:

firstcomment

Then I shared my column on Facebook.

While it at least struck one FB friend’s funny bone:

hilarious

Another, got a little grumpy about it.

don't do it

Then it found its way into the newspaper that publishes my column, The Journal of Martinsburg, W.V.

1

2

3

4

5

I fall into the “old enough to not care what other people think” crowd. But while I’m still flirting with the idea, feel free to post your own opinion.

Oh, I almost forgot. Here’s a link to my Journal column.

Tattoos: You’re Either For Them or Against Them

5 thoughts on “Tattoos: You’re Either For Them or Against Them

  1. Go for it, you only live once. Make it meaningful and you’ll won’t regret it. Tattoos to me are like a personal diary or a timeline on your body. They tell the story of you.

  2. The truth is, I’m not for them or against them. I’m for individuals being free to make the creative and personal choice to ink their own bodies free of external bigotry or peer pressure.

    Someone said something about tattoos being “a sign of problems on the inside, every time.” That’s a pretty sweeping claim. I think an accurate statement would be that the human craving for permanent body marking (which is by no means new) very often indicates some kind of significant internal awareness shift. It’s human to want to memorize that shift.

    Sometimes the shift is negative, like a gang allegiance because no one else cares. Sometimes it is positive, like a spiritual event or the birth of child or the achievement of a long-held goal.

    I think the emotional knee jerk to other people’s interest in tattoos is highly irrational. Why I would care what anyone else chooses to do I don’t know. Tattoos are irrational, too. People are irrational.

    Sometimes, the rational is super-unsatisfying. Rock on, Mr. Snyder. Choose wisely.

  3. I’m all for tattoos. But only if you’re mature enough to make that decision. I have two that are concealed when I’m in a short sleeve shirt. Both were thought out and only completed after a full year of contemplation. I’m pleased with both of them. I’ve considered “Montani Semper Liberi” on my forearm but have chosen not to. I hope to be in front of a classroom one day and would like to look “professional” without a long sleeve shirt.

Leave a Reply

