Inauguration Commute

I usually don’t take Washington, D.C.’s Metro subway to work. I prefer to drive. The commute from my home in West Virginia is shorter that way.

But tonight, I was forced to abandon my car at the subway station by the Secret Service. The parking garage at my office building is closed. For that matter, the streets around my building are blocked off because of an inaugural ball  being held in the neighborhood.

So, I rode the rails tonight after having watched President Obama’s second inauguration from the comfort of my favorite chair at home.

Four years ago, I rode my bicycle around town as record-setting crowds gathered on the National Mall to watch Obama take the oath the first time.

This time, I walked the few blocks from the metro station to my office building as ball-goers celebrated another Obama administration.

Here’s a few pictures of what I saw. Nothing too exciting but I swear I saw the actor who played Toby on “The West Wing” walking down the street. I was too self-conscious to snap a picture of him, though.

I took these pictures with my iPhone, so the quality isn’t the greatest.

streetmusicians
A couple of street musicians greeted me as I left the Metro station near my building.
bike
Bicycle cabs sought to make a buck by taking ball-goers to and from their black tie events.
photo
Volunteers stood on street corners holding these signs to make it easy for confused ball-goers.
Street closures meant ball-goers could walk where they normally would not dare tread.
Street closures meant ball-goers could walk where they normally would not dare tread.
Inauguration Commute

Leave a Reply

