New Handlebars!

A couple of years ago, I bought my Trek FX2 Hybrid. I love this bike. It’s perfect for the combination of road and towpath riding that I do. But I’ve never been thrilled with the flat, mountain handlebars that come stock on most hybrids. Those bars have only one effective hand position and quickly become tiresome on longer rides. Think sore wrists and aching neck.

I considered switching to road bars but I gave up on that idea when I found out that mountain gear shifters and brake levers don’t fit them. Switching to road components to overcome that obstacle seemed too much of a hassle, not to mention expensive.

I sought advice from bicycle shops and other experts but our conversations quickly became predictable.

“Other than bar ends, there really isn’t anything you can do,” they said. “Why don’t you buy a road bike?”

I don’t want a road bike, so I settled for bar ends for a while.

They’re okay.

At least, they offer another hand position. But I still couldn’t accept that there weren’t any other options for people like me, who like their hybrids but not the handlebars.

I stumbled upon the answer a few weeks ago. As soon as I saw them, I knew they’d do the trick. They’re called Butterfly Bars or Trekking Bars and I understand they are popular among touring cyclists in Europe.

I ordered mine from a shop in Massachusetts called Harris Cyclery.

They were here within a couple of days and within an hour or two I had them bolted onto my bike.

They’re perfect.

Here are some more before and after pictures. The hardest part of the whole operation was getting the grips off the old bars and onto the new. I used my wife’s blow dryer to apply some heat to loosen them up. The rest is pretty straightforward.

New Handlebars!

Leave a Reply

