They Might Be Daleks


The big event in Washington, D.C. this week was President Obama’s State of the Union speech.

And, while the focus was squarely on the president, with one sip of water, Florida Senator Marco Rubio seemed to get more attention for what he did than what he said in the Republican response.

(As a guy who makes his living with his voice, I knew what Rubio was going through. There’s nothing like cotton-mouth to muck up a radio newscast. Or, in this case, one of the most important speeches you’ve made to date as the GOP looks to the 2016 race for the White House.)

Despite the snark that Rubio’s thirst prompted on Twitter, it was an important night.

Battle lines were drawn on a host of mostly domestic issues ranging from gun control to the debt and deficit.

On a more personal level, though, I was just relieved to be able to get in and out of the nation’s capitol without too much trouble. Security for the president’s speech meant street closures, which means traffic problems in a city recently ranked as having the worst commute times in the nation.

Such events make extreme commuters like me extremely unhappy (to recap – I live in West Virginia, 90 miles from my job in D.C.).

I needn’t have worried, though.

The disruptions on Capitol Hill in no way impeded progress to my building. I was actually a little early when I arrived at work Tuesday night.

In fact, the only thing I needed to concern myself with was this …

dalek

No, Doctor Who’s greatest enemies haven’t taken over the nation’s capitol, even though it sometimes must seem like Daleks have invaded.

It’s a traffic camera.

And, this particular one has been vexing me the past couple of months. It’s already cost me a hefty fine.

This one used to catch speeders heading toward Georgetown or up onto the Whitehurst Freeway.

I eventually got used to it as a regular feature of my journey to and from work.

But just a couple of weeks ago, the D.C. traffic police tried to put one over on me. They repositioned it to snap pictures of speeding drivers going in the opposite direction – heading into downtown instead of out.

It’s a good thing I happened to be driving by when they were setting it back up.

Otherwise, I would have been “EXTERMINATED” by that Dalek-looking traffic camera along with other unsuspecting D.C. drivers.

Leave a Reply

